My Goals

16 07 2008

This your kind of thing? Please think about subscribing via RSS or eMail (it’s free). Thanks for taking the time to visit! Chris

By Scot Will on Flickr via Creative Commons

Photo by Scott Will on Flickr via Creative Commons

If you want to make your dreams come true, the first thing you have to do is wake up. J.M.Power

I have some content to Post on Goal setting. However, I just wanted to put a post up about my own personal goals (accountability is a great motivator). I expect that my goals with ultimately drive a lot of the content on my blog.

I have spend time eliminating, simplifying and deliberating over what my goals are in my life. I will talk about this separately, but for now I just want to get my current goals posted (I’ve limited it to three, with explanations).

1) Generate Income Without a 9-5 Job

Why is this goal important? Well, for me there are a number of reasons. Firstly, I don’t like working for other people. I am good at my job, and I do work hard but it I don’t want to be the employee, I want to be the employer. Ever since a young age I wanted to be an Entrepreneur. I used to experiment with business ideas, but as I grow older I put too many negative thoughts in to starting any ventures. THIS WILL CHANGE. You have to be in it to win it! Watch this space.

This goal will allow me to achieve my ambition to move abroad etc.

2) Be in a Band

I’m not talking about the next big thing here. Just a covers band to have fun. I’ve played the guitar for over ten years now. I think I am good, but I’ve always wanted to be in a band. It’s just ‘finding the time’ or ‘finding the right people’. I need to eliminate my personal obstacles and Just Do It!

3) Maintain Fitness

I’m quite fit, but my exercise routines vary greatly. I took up triathlon’s once and way very dedicated for a season. It was a time where I had a job that allowed me to finish on time and get my training done. Then it just fizzled out! I did the 62 mile charity bike ride this weekend. I’ve always enjoyed keeping fit, and feel better for it. So my goal here is to maintain it constantly, rather than having short peaks, and long troughs in my training.

So there are my BIG goals. I do have short term goals, but I find that I can’t do everything and need to just do the ones that if I was sat on my death bed I would regret not doing.

More to come…


Bookmark and Share

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 07 2008
grumpajoesplace

Your goals are all important because they mean something to you. Have you considered defining your “High Payoff Activities?” You should have no more than six of them. These are activities that will mean something to you on your death bed. i.e. When on your db what would you regret not having done? Would you respond by saying that you wished you had spent more time riding your bike, or selling your product? Not likely. Most likely you will respond that you wish you spent more time with your family, lover, arts, or something that really means alot to you.
The reasoning behind defining high payoff activities is to strike balance in your life. Make time for the important things. The trick is knowing what those things are.

17 07 2008
Chris

@ gumpajoesplace

Hello, thanks for you comment. You make a very valid point. I think I therefore need to put my goals in context a little. I see these goals as ‘targets’ or ‘habits’ that I am trying to form. I.e. areas of my life that I am not giving enough focus and therefore need to define in order to work towards. For example, I do not have (currently) my blog as a goal as I really see it as a side activity to what I am doing.

You are right that on your death bed you would wish for spending more time with family or seeing the world – however I already do focus on these activities a lot and am happy with this, often at the expense of these goals that I have set out above.

If I do not focus on these goals then I would not want to be on my death bed wishing that I had been in a band, not spent my whole life ‘working for the man’ and not maintaining my healthy body (and therefore healthy mind).

Maybe therefore ‘Goals’ aren’t the right term, but ‘Focus Points’ or something! That gets me thinking – thanks!

Will look into ‘High Payoff Activities’

Leave a Reply

